Close Sign Up Newsletter

April - May 2014

Download the Calendar


The 2014 Billy T Nominees are...

On the 4th March 2014 Back


Surge of amazing talent in the New Zealand comedy industry, made this year’s Billy T Award Nominations showcase the biggest ever.

Billy T James changed the face of comedy in this country, forging a hugely successful career out of making people laugh. To celebrate his memory and achievements, the New Zealand Comedy Trust created the annual Billy T Award to support up-and-coming comedians with the outstanding potential to take their comedy career to the next level.

2013 Billy T Award winner Rose Matafeo, hosted a fast paced spectacularly hilarious showcase of 20 of the most exciting up-and-coming comedians in the industry at the moment. These emerging talents each gave exceptional performances at The Classic last night vying for a spot in the final five.

Making the incredibly tough decisions, this year’s expert panel of judges features the inaugural winner of the Billy T Award in 1997 Ewen Gilmour; Jackie van Beek (Actor/Writer/Director); Richard Carrington (Managing Director Notorious Management Ltd); Oliver Sealy (TVNZ Producer); and Jon Bridges (Producer of TV3’s 7 Days).

The nominees for the 2014 Billy T Award were selected on their proven comedic ability; talent; dedication; current form and potential, and will be judged on all aspects of their 2014 NZ International Comedy Festival show. Final performances and judging will take place at Last Laughs, on Sunday 18 May 2014.

We are excited to announce that the five nominees for the 2014 Billy T Award are:

•    Brendon Green

•    Guy Montgomery

•    Jamaine Ross

•    Stephen Witt

•    Tim Batt


For further details on the 2014 Billy T Awards & nominees - click here.